Happy Heckoween

Screen Shot 2013-11-04 at 5.20.14 PMIt’s that time of year again, when children wear cumbersome, restrictive costumes and wander in the dark to eat food handed to them by total strangers. What could go wrong? How about…getting the Circles of Heck series! Yes, imagine the looks of mild confusion when, instead of getting some fun-sized candy (as if “fun” could ever be properly measured!?) your young boys and ghouls receive fresh copies of the Circles of Heck series!

 

Read what real people could possibly be saying about the highly affordable Circles of Heck series!

“So frightening that I soiled someone ELSE’s pants!” — Stephen King

“I laughed so hard that I broke all of my ribs. Seriously, I am in incredible pain, please help me.” — Will Ferrell

“Basye uses many of the same words that appear in classic pieces of literature.” — Harvard University

“The [Heck series] is the [best series] [ever written].” — [New York Times]

“You will laugh, cry and cherish every page of Dale E. Basye’s exceptional Circles of Heck series!” — Not a Real Magazine Magazine

4 responses to “Happy Heckoween

  1. Hi,
    I’ve read all your books so far and adore them. I even donated them to the library at my school so the kids could enjoy them, too. (They do and I’ve gotten several of the teachers hooked as well.) I hate to think the last two won’t come out and found this on Facebook by P. N. Elrod (another author I enjoy);
    Here’s two reputable Print On Demand (POD) companies that host a lot of self-pubbed books:
    http://www.Lulu.com
    CreateSpace from Amazon:
    https://www.createspace.com/Products/Book/
    They’re perfect for authors with niche market books that a big publisher might not be interested in.
    Or, you might try Scholastic (http://teacher.scholastic.com/writeit/pubkidswork.htm) they publish a lot of kids books and would probably love yours.
    I’d just love for the next two books to come out and get into the kids’ hands.
    Wendy Emlinger, Retired librarian

    • Hi Wendy!
      A think a retired librarian is always a librarian, in some way. Whether it’s organizing one’s sock drawer using the Dewey Decimal System or shushing the cats when they read too loudly, I think librarianing is in your blood. Thanks so much for your “adoration” of my books! I’ve donated a lot of my personal copies to various libraries as I could seldom find them there, or raggedy copies on their last book leg. And, wow: I am so terribly moved by the time you spent finding publishing options for me! Seriously: thank you. Really great information. I will definitely explore these options. I will find out next month more about a possible Heck movie, and if that doesn’t end up happening, my next project will be getting Sadia: The Eighth Circle of Heck together for self-publishing. Again, thank you for your support, Wendy: it means a lot!
      Best,
      Dale

  2. Hi Dale,

    I just started the series, which I’m enjoying. A bookseller recommended the books to me when I informed her that I wanted to “help” “introduce” my 7th graders to Dante and Milton. However, I want to focus more on Dante’s Paradiso (or even Purgatorio) and Milton’s Heaven than the hellish parts of their works. Which book or books in your series would be best for this task? Thank you for your help!

    Sincerely,
    Danny

    • Hi Danny!
      Thanks for your note. I’m glad you’re enjoying the series so far! I’m also pleased that a bookseller introduced you to it. I haven’t even seen the books in stores recently, so I’m glad they are still spreading the good/bad word about Heck! The series itself is only loosely based on Dante, mainly simply for the construct that there are individual circles of torment, based on “kid-ified” sins (no murder or lust, for instance: got to keep it PG!). I throw in a few references, such as characters named Virgil and Milton, but it really doesn’t follow the flow of Milton’s epic poem, other than that the main characters will somehow encounter each circle. The first book, Heck: Where the Bad Kids Go, focuses on Limbo, so it is the closest in theme to Purgatorio. I am editing the eighth Circle of Heck book now which will have glimpses of Paradiso, as will the ninth (and final) installment. These last two books will more than likely be self-published as Random House is no longer publishing the series. Snivel: The Fifth Circle of Heck has a bit about a kids’ paradise, of sorts, but most of the series takes place in the underworld (though you follow the various bureaucratic duties of angels and such). I know that there are some graphic novels of the Divine Comedy that are supposed to be compelling. These could, perhaps, ensnare young readers who might be put off by an epic poem! I know that Oxford University, of all places, did a block comparing and contrasting my books along with others in a course called Hoodies in Hell! In addition to my book, they covered a book written by poet John Agard called The Young Inferno (illustrated by Satoshi Kitamura).
      Let me know how it goes and thanks so much for reaching out!
      Best,
      Dale

Leave a Reply

